Starting to get the mileage back and had my first "long" run this past week. 9 miles. Now in a few weeks 9 miles is going to be a mid week workout but it is worth noting. I have been working on pacing for the last few weeks as well and while I have dropped a few seconds off my normal pace, I feel that it is going to keep me from crashing towards the end of long runs. There is nothing more frustrating than having a good pace going and having it fall off drastically with two miles to go.
I just finished reading "Born to Run" a few days ago (I may have been the only runner never to read it) and it was phenomenal. I understand that there are parts that may be exaggerated, but as a minimalist runner, that is starting to dabble with running on trails, I could not put it down. I highly recommend it.
During the book it talks about the benefits of Chia seeds (yep, the same seeds that we usually stick to the side of a terracotta pot) and a few recipes to get the ball rolling. So far I have made Iskiate (which is essentially water, chia seeds, lemon juice and agave nectar. As the chia seeds break down the water gets a gel like texture to it but its not all that bad) and pinole (a chia seed / corn meal mixture). Not sure if I am feeling the effects or not, but I bet that they are better for you than an energy gel / bar.
Again, not all that much to report, just trying to keep my legs underneath me and run injury free...

